I’m currently using Dreamweaver cs4 with netbeans 6.7 as my IDE for J2EE development. I manage to get by with servlet, javabeans and utility class using netbeans and edit my jsp, css with DWcs4. Few configuration needed for the integration though.

Dreamweaver CS4
Dreamweaver CS4

Few significant feature in CS4 is “Live View” in which you can just view your page inside of Dreamweaver. You don’t have to work with external web browser when testing your page. For this to function with your jsp, you have to integrate your JSP server with Dreamweaver (can be find here http://www.netbeans.org/kb/articles/dreamweaver_integration.html).  I was expecting Dreamweaver will add more feature to help in working with the dynamic part of the page but sadly it’s not the case now. There’s might be a built-in code-completion for java scriptlet in Dreamweaver but it’s just for some basic object such as session, request, response, etc. For editing jsp scriptlet in my jsp page, I’ll have to change my work environment to netbeans since netbeans provide code completion and error highlighting.

Netbeans 6.7
Netbeans 6.7

Long before, I was searching for jsp WYSIWYG plug-in for netbeans. But since they have Visual JSF, my hope for Netbeans to include WYSIWYG for html and jsp has stop. Well, maybe I’ll stick with what I have for now. For me, live preview like Dreamweaver  is enough if they could include it in future Netbeans release Netbeans+Dreamweaver duo is kind of OK for me. Anyway, I haven’t explore much of Netbeans 6.7, but from what I’ve read, it just include some minor update from previous release. Anyone have better idea of any better IDE out there, that could do both like Netbeans and Dreamweaver, please inform me!! Thank You.